My life says, “eh whatever”

“The critical issue today is dullness. We have lost our astonishment. The Good News is no longer good news, it is okay news. Christianity is no longer life changing, it is life enhancing. Jesus doesn’t change people into wild-eyed radicals anymore, He changes them into “nice people.””

Michael Yaconelli wrote the above in one of my very favorite books. Dangerous Wonder, The Adventure of Childlike faith.

I’m constantly challenged by the thought. Am I living in such a way that the news and person that changed everything for me is so amazingly wonderful that I can’t help but oooze a little Jesus when ever I’m with people?

Or am I just nice?

Today I bought lunch for my door man. As I walked away he said, “Cari you’re so great.” I smiled, and instantly thought, “yeah, but does he know that Jesus is SO GREAT.” Anyone can buy him lunch. But what would it look like for me to radically give to him that the only thing he could do is respond by saying, “woah.. that is good news and I want some of that!” There’s a difference between being nice and being radical.

Oswald Chambers speaks of this when he asks the question, (and I paraphrase) “are you leading people to yourself, to think you’re so great? or are you leading them to see and remember Jesus?”

So what does your life speak? Does your life say “eh whatever, it’s okay news that enhances me.” or does it SCREAM, “OH MY GOSH THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER, YOU HAVE TO COME CHECK THIS OUT! DO I EVER HAVE GOOD NEWS FOR YOU!”

What other messages do we send out about the Good News?

Leave a Reply

