A reflection on a week of giving in and wisdom from my mom.

Have you ever experienced a week where it simply felt like everything was a battle? Even what to choose to eat involves saying no to all kinds of crap before you get to the stuff you really need.

It has been that kind of a week for me. The kind where everyday I have had to choose how I was going to spend my time, what I was going to eat and how I was going to think. To be honest I haven’t done so well. I’ve not felt free this week. In fact I’ve felt trapped by one poor decision after another.

I often experience difficulty after I experience grace. Last weekend I had the opportunity to share with a group of women. God did some pretty amazing things in the lives of the women who gathered. It was powerful. I came home and instead of living into that which I spoke began to give in to mistruths about self. I didn’t work out much and I ate poorly. And I gave in a lot.

Last night I was talking with my mom and dad and told them, “I’ve worked so hard all week, but I can’t seem to get out of this funk I’m in.” My mom responded, “you can’t, you are not capable of it.” Then I realized I did it again. I was working out of my strength to fight this week and I was not seeking to rely on God, and some how I thought I needed to be the one to have enough strength to be obedient!

It is strange how often I can learn and relearn something. Obedience is a gift from God. Strength is a gift from God. When I seek to overcome temptation on my own I once again make me the center. Although I’m trying to please God I think it is my work that does it!

Oh goodness, the things we have to be reminded of over and over again.

Strength comes from the Lord. I confessed last night that I was seeking to be obedient in my own power instead of in submission to God.

What are you trying to do in your own power? Take a moment and reflect, then confess and seek God. He is always about a good work in you and me. When we take over, we basically are saying… “I got this one covered. I don’t need you God.”  Let’s step out of self dependence to a great dependence on Jesus!

Leave a Reply

