Saying yes

In just a few short days I will be running my very first event. It is the San Diego Rock N Roll Marathon. I will be running the full 26. 2 miles and simply cannot believe it is already here.

I have lived much of my life saying no to athletic things. I never felt capable, nor did I want to risk looking silly in front of my peers. This year I told myself I was no longer able to say no, but I could say yes. So the training began. It has been long and in some ways easier than I thought and much more difficult in others.

I’ve learned a lot from saying yes and sticking to it. The training is where I would usually give up and it’s been in the training that I’ve learned a lot about myself and about my walk with Jesus and people. I’ve learned that I truly do desire to be in a process towards healthy living and that it is a process and I am in the middle of it.

I’ve learned that God isn’t always the God of the miraculous moment. He often is the God of the miraculous process. I used to get mad at him for that. After this process, I’m thankful that I’ve had to walk through it. It is in the process that my faith has been challenged and put to the test. The race will prove I’ve been in training.

The same is true of us in our day to day living. When crisis or celebration comes, how we get through it or celebrate is proof of our training.

So thanks for being a part of my training. Thanks for cheering me on. Thanks for your prayers and belief that I can do this!

I’ll post pictures after the race.

If you want to venture out to cheer me on here is a link to the race web page where you can find information. My pace is somewhere between a 13 and a 15 minute mile, to give you some time frame.

http://san-diego.competitor.com/event-info/

See you at the finish line!

Leave a Reply

