Disasters Anonymous

My name is Cari and I’m a disaster. I’ve come to realize over the years that each and everyone of us is a disaster in some way. If we think we have it together totally, we actually are a disaster in larger ways than most.

Every time I think I need to hold myself together for the betterment of people, I am reminded that honesty, authenticity and mess is actually needed in the lives of those around me. My disaster normalizes the disaster of others and helps them to feel as though they are not alone in it.

Jesus came not for the healthy but for the sick. I think I’ve come to realize that it is in being “sick” or being a “disaster” that we find Jesus and our need for him. When we think we need to hold it together, there is no need for a Jesus outside of self. Why would one need saving if they’re perfectly okay?

Being a disaster makes us human. Bringing out disaster to Jesus brings healing and restoration to the messy parts of our lives and hearts. It’s so freeing to being perfectly imperfect, to admit our tendency to be messy and to allow our beautifully disasterous side to shine. For it is in our weakness that Jesus is strong. For His power is made perfect in our weakness.

Feel free to own your disaster today and seek the only one who is perfect to breathe life into it!

One thought on “Disasters Anonymous

Leave a Reply

