The day I realized I was a voyeur

The other day I was walking down the street and I looked up to see a former bachelor from the show The Bachelorette. I at first had that feeling you have when you see someone and recognize them but don’t know from where. Then I remembered. Then I thought of all the girl friends I have who would be excited by that news. Then I thought to myself, “wow I know way too much about your personal life and you don’t even know my name.”

We have made voyeurism entertainment and I think in some ways it is changing things. We wanted to see what went on the House floor, so they put cameras in the House to televise the democratic process on C-Span and now our representatives have to perform for their constituents more than work on the tough work of daily reconciliation for our nation’s good. We see people’s personal lives strewn all over TV, watching hearts break, families fall apart and people lose weight. In some ways being a voyeur has given us the freedom to justify our own poor choices. We watch someone else be an incredible jack ass on TV, so we say to ourselves, “At least I’m not as bad as that guy!”

I don’t know. But I actually think reality TV is having a strange effect on us. I think the easy access to personal lives via Facebook, twitter, blogs like mine, YouTube and the like also give an invitation for others to look into our personal space. Even as I write this in my 16th story condo, there is a crane out my window less than a football field away with a guy looking straight in! (Maybe that is the motivation for this blog? Having someone be able to look in at me that I do not know is, well, disturbing.)

I think reality TV and all the other aforementioned things can bring about good and do bring about good. I Facebook, twitter and blog and see the benefit of such things. Yet still, I wonder what all this prowling about in the lives of others does to our own perception of self and sense of reality.

I don’t know… still thinking. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

