Stop Fighting

It was a few weeks ago now that I had to leave my car in Portland where I sold her for parts for a mere 850 dollars. As I wondered how I’d get home, how I’d get a new car and how in the world all the details would come together I was encouraged to be still.

I had no idea how I’d get home or how things would work out. I did however know that God, who is good would be Lord of this situation. I laid in bed the night before I sold her off and cried saying something like, “Lord, I am yours. I know that you are Lord of these details and I believe firmly that you’ll provide a way out for me.”

I’ve spent a lot of time in the stories of rescue from the Old Testament. In each of the stories I read the Lord commanded His people to be still and to stop their working. He then told them to watch as the Lord would fight for them.

I’m learning that when we believe our fighting is what rescues us, we actually cease to believe that God is God and we put ourselves in His seat. God fights for us. We submit to His Lordship and He fights the battle.

We struggle believing we are god. We think it is our work that saves us or that it is our religion or our work. But the truth is nothing saves us of our own work. God is the God who saves. It is His work to save. So as I wonder how I was going to get myself out of this situation, the Lord reminded me it was not up to me. It was His job to save me.

Trusting is hard. Believing is work in and of itself. And, honestly believing God would actually come through in some way, was much more difficult than me coming up with a plan. A plan would have been my way of telling God I don’t need Him and I have this one under control. I chose to trust this time. And because I chose to trust I got to see the most miraculous thing.

God gave me a car. Not only did He give me a car in the moment, He gave me money to buy a new car in the future. I can’t wait to share that story with  you. But in the mean time, where ever you are tempted to fight your own battle and trust in your own self to rescue you out of whatever situation you’re in. Take a moment, step back and watch the Lord fight for you!

 

5 thoughts on “Stop Fighting

  1. We had a sermon on the Valley of Beracah this Sunday. It is amazing when all seems lost and God not only saves you but richly blesses you too. ♥

  2. Cari, thanks for the testimony of God’s faithfulness. I am in a similar place and appreciate your words to rest in His sufficiency.

Leave a Reply

