I LONG for Sunday

Today I understand darkness. It’s not the kind that one finds when the lights are turned out. It is more like the darkness that speaks against you. The darkness that clouds any positive thought or emotion. I feel the enemy’s victory.

I wonder if this is how the disciples felt when they witnessed Jesus die. Everything they had put their hope and faith in was crucified. The man who was their teacher, Lord and Savior, let alone friend, mentor and source of truth was over run by man and killed. Talk about taking a huge hit in one’s belief system!

Today I feel like the truth keeps getting sucker punched. I feel like the truth that Jesus has to offer me was hung on a cross and it is dying. I feel like the very words of life are dying with it. There is a great heaviness to darkness. It snuffs out all that is good and beautiful. It seeks to kill steal and destroy. It seeks to take and do so without permission.

Darkness is the lack of the light of Jesus. I hate the darkness. I hate it. Even as I type I cry as I identify with the death of truth. There has been a war in mind over truth. Who will win? Will it be the enemy and his band of lying brothers? or will it be the victorious one? The very source of truth himself. My Jesus.

Good Friday has historically been a dark day for me. The enemy comes at me from every angle on this day and I feel even for a glimpse of a moment, a taste of life without light and it only causes my love for the light to increase.

I love that Good Friday is short lived. I long for Sunday! I long for Sunday and the restoration power it represents. I long for Sunday and the healing it brings. I long for Sunday and the beauty she holds. I long for Sunday. I long for truth to be restored. I long for hope and life and love. I long for that which was destroyed to be rebuilt. I long for that which was emptied to be filled. I long for that which is nothing but ashes to be crafted into beauty. I long for Sunday. I long for the way. I long for life. I long for that which holds me captive to be captured and bound, that I may go free. I long for Sunday. I long for the broken hearted to be bound. I long for those impoverished to be fed. I long for that which was stolen to be restored. I long for Sunday. I long for the abused, neglected and abandoned to be seen, caressed and cherished. I long for the stench of death to be replaced by the aroma of Christ. I long for Sunday. I long for the one who will snuff out the darkness. I long for the lies that war against my heart to silenced. I long for Sunday.

This day makes me long for Sunday. Friday makes me long for Sunday.  Not only for me, but for every person, every where. I long for the world to live in Sunday. I pray over the next day as you fight against darkness in your life, that you would long deeply for Sunday.

Breathe in and Long with me. Do you crave it? Can you feel it? May the darkness of today and tomorrow only build a constant longing for the giver of Sunday.

Leave a Reply

