For my birthday I received a new heart

Tonight I sat in my hot tub again. It seems to a place where I connect with Jesus and people as of late. Bekah and I sat and talked about life, freedom and what it’s like to know the deepest parts of us free of resentment, lies, shame and oppression.

As we talked, I would feel a little nudge to look in a particular part of the sky. Each time, I turned my head and stared at the sky. The stars shown so brightly and the wind, a soft presence reminding me of Holy Spirit and his constant presence, like air we breathe, blew across my face. As I’d face in the direction prompted, I’d look to the sky and within a short period of time I’d see a falling star.

I have a thing for falling stars. They are like a shinny gift from Jesus. A reminder that he loves me and that all of creation sings His glory. Five times I was prompted. Five times I turned. Five times I waited and watched. Five times I was met with a falling star.

The last star was seen just before the clock turned to 12:00, greeting my birthday.

The conversation. The cool breeze. The company. The times praying. The tears. The reminder that God is bigger than those things that kill, steal and destroy and the falling stars were a perfect way to enter into this day.

I am so thankful to have a God who loves me so deeply that He gives me gifts.

This year, not only did Jesus give me shooting stars, He gave me my heart.

If you’ve been reading my blog for the past month you know that I’ve been struggling. I’ve felt lost. I’ve felt as though I had no idea what I wanted out of life and I was broken. In the past week, I was given my heart back.

Ezekial 36:26 says  I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.

He will give me a new heart, removing from me a heart of stone and give me a heart of flesh. This is the gift I was given this year and I am so thankful.

Today, I celebrate my Jesus. He is good and he has invited me into the goodness of the land of the living and I am new.

Amen

Leave a Reply

