He Died Anyway

Listen: 17 On his arrival, Jesus found that Lazarus had already been in the tomb for four days. 18 Now Bethany was less than two miles from Jerusalem, 19 and many Jews had come to Martha and Mary to comfort them in the loss of their brother. 20 When Martha heard that Jesus was coming, she went out to meet him, but Mary stayed at home. 21 “Lord,” Martha said to Jesus, “if you had been here, my brother would not have died. 22 But I know that even now God will give you whatever you ask.” John 11:17-22

There are times where it feels as though I’ve failed you. There are times where your prayers are not answered how you think best. There are times when your dreams die, the pain remains, the sickness doesn’t go away, the relationship doesn’t mend, the money doesn’t come, the troubles seemingly get worse. In these times do not think that I have forgotten you. I am neither blind nor negligent. Your loss is seen and felt. Instead of assuming I’ve left or blaming me for the reality you want but do not have, run to me. Run to me with your questions. Run to me with your unanswered prayers. Seek me in your anger. Find me, when you don’t understand. Look for me in your grief. I am not thrown by these things. Nor do these things anger me. My love for you is deep and I am capable of the impossible, for nothing is impossible with me. Run to me and believe.

Pray: I pray that you will know the deep love of God for you. I pray that you will trust Him in the midst of uncertainty, pain and loss. I pray that you will grow in faith when answers do not come. I pray that you will grow in your belief of Jesus and His ability to save will grow. I pray that Holy Spirit will reveal to you any place where you are blaming God or are embittered towards him for circumstances that were/are not as you’d like. I pray that your belief in God, even in the midst of loss, pain or suffering would be a testimony of His faithfulness to those around you.

Live: Get a group of friends to put together gift baskets to take to local hospitals. Leave a gift basket with the attendant of the Intensive Care waiting room. Leave a note that although you do not know the extent of the circumstance, that you will be praying for every person in the waiting room that they would know healing, hope and feel loved.

 

One thought on “He Died Anyway

Leave a Reply

