Jesus Calls

28 After she had said this, she went back and called her sister Mary aside. “The Teacher is here,” she said, “and is asking for you.” 29 When Mary heard this, she got up quickly and went to him. 30 Now Jesus had not yet entered the village, but was still at the place where Martha had met him. 31 When the Jews who had been with Mary in the house, comforting her, noticed how quickly she got up and went out, they followed her, supposing she was going to the tomb to mourn there. 32 When Mary reached the place where Jesus was and saw him, she fell at his feet and said, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.”  John 11:28-32

I am generous and humble in heart. I pursue you and call you by name. There are times when difficulty comes that you hide your face from me. You stay with the crowd seeking to be comforted by them in ways only I am capable.
i know your sadness. I call you by name as you cry out.
Come to me.
I call for you because I know what you need and I want you to turn to me.
Come to me. Find me. Look for me as your source of comfort and care.
When you get up and turn to me be not afraid of your honest thoughts. I know that my ways are bigger than your understanding. Do not think you must come to me with out doubt, anger or grief. Bring your honest self to my feet. I know you blame me when difficulties come. I know you question my goodness. I know you doubt my character and love for you.
Come to me with these beliefs.
Come to me with clinch fists.
Come to me with raw emotion.
I will always meet you there. I will always welcome you. I will always be your comfort.
When your life feels pain or when you watch others know deep sadness, know I am looking for you, calling you by name and inviting you to come.

Prayer:
I pray that today you will listen to Jesus.
i pray that you will believe he calls for you by name.
I pray that you will go to Him with honesty.
I pray that you will release your anger, sadness and doubt at the feet of Jesus.
I pray that you will know the deep comfort of Jesus.
I pray that His comfort will give you strength, courage and hope.
I pray that His comfort will enable you to extend comfort to others around you in His name.

Live:
Be an extension of the comfort of Jesus to a person experiencing grief of any kind. Buy flowers, show up unexpected, leave a package, send a gift card for a meal, bake cookies, watch a movie with, sit quietly with or simply speak to their grief, pain or sadness. Extend comfort in the name of Jesus as you extend presence with your life and generosity.

Leave a Reply

