My thoughts and His thoughts

Listen

37 But some of them said, “Could not he who opened the eyes of the blind man have kept this man from dying?” 38 Jesus, once more deeply moved, came to the tomb. It was a cave with a stone laid across the entrance. 39 “Take away the stone,” he said. “But, Lord,” said Martha, the sister of the dead man, “by this time there is a bad odor, for he has been there four days.”   John 11:37-39
There is a way of man and there is my way. When you seek to understand me and what I ask of you with your own mind and understanding you will continue to be puzzled. For my way is not yours. My thoughts and yours are so vastly different.
I know that you often struggle with the ideas of faith and responsibility. My ways can seem irresponsible to you. Sometimes I ask you to participate in things that will cause discomfort for you or others. You react to this as you worship comfort.
Trust me in this. When I ask something of you that goes against logic, comfort or human nature, look to me and believe. I always have a larger view in mind.
I have a way that is beyond your capability to think or see.
My glory is revealed in impossibility. Your knowledge and skill are revealed through your own understanding and capability.
Seek first me, my Kingdom and my way. Believe in me and step into each invitation to act with faith.

Pray
I pray that you will respond to Jesus with faith and belief.
I pray that you will trust God with the impossibilities in your life.
I pray that you will know Holy Spirit’s voice so that you will listen to him and obey his promptings.
I pray your belief will continually increase.
I pray that you will risk looking foolish and your own comfort to obediently respond to my invitations to act.
I pray that any hindrance in your life would be removed so that you would see and live in the faithfulness of Jesus.
I pray that others would see the glory of God in the way that you live in impossibility, that all may know and worship He who is able to do more than you can ask or imagine.

Live
Can you think of a time when you’ve felt prompted by Jesus to act in faith?
Share that story with a friend.
If you can not think of a time where you’ve felt prompted by Jesus to act in any way, ask around. Is there anyone in your life who acts in faith? Sit down with them and ask how they learned to listen and respond to Him.

Leave a Reply

