Generosity and the feet of Jesus

Listen

But one of his disciples, Judas Iscariot, who was later to betray him, objected, “Why wasn’t this perfume sold and the money given to the poor? It was worth a year’s wages.” He did not say this because he cared about the poor but because he was a thief; as keeper of the money bag, he used to help himself to what was put into it. “Leave her alone,” Jesus replied. “It was intended that she should save this perfume for the day of my burial. You will always have the poor among you, but you will not always have me.” John 12:4-8

Oh dear one my heart aches for the world. Do you not see the need? Do you not realize that the world needs me more than any other thing.

I will always remember the story of this woman who poured out expensive perfume on my son. Her gift was not wasted. The gift was a sacrifice of worship. She lavished me with this valuable gift and it was good. Her offering she declared that I worthy of the most precious of gifts and the most valuable of treasures.

Like Judas, there will be those who watch as you give to me and complain. Many may point fingers as though you’ve been selfish or foolish with your generosity. Still others may say that you have sinned against me, for your gift didn’t come in the way they saw fit.

When you give to me, listen to me first. Know what I ask of you and give it generously.

Do not weigh the opinions of men, simply give. The world will be filled with your generosity and many will praise me as a result.

Trust in me. The needs of this world are met as people lavish me with their generosity.

 

Pray

I pray that you will be lavish in your generosity towards Jesus.

I pray that you will seek Him and that He will guide you in your gift offerings.

I pray that Holy Spirit will convict you of what is good and right and perfect as you give and that you will be bold and obedient.

I pray that the opinions of others, selfish motives and fear would not keep you from giving.

I pray that the world would know the lavish generosity of Jesus as you give selflessly to Jesus.

 

Live

Ask Jesus where he would like you to invest for His Kingdom with you belongings. Make a commitment to Jesus, to faithfully give all that He commands and bless others by loving Jesus with your generosity.

Leave a Reply

