Everything Must Die

Listen

Jesus replied, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. Anyone who loves their life will lose it, while anyone who hates their life in this world will keep it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.  John 12:23-26

Yes it is true my beloved, everything must die for it to know life. I know this is a hard teaching. I know that you cling to your life and your dreams. I know that you long for things and as a result you worship outcomes more than me. I know you want your life to be a certain way and you strive and strive to make this life happen. Oh my child I have so much more for you! Give all of those ideas up, lay them down, be willing to let them die, so that I can come in and breathe my life into you, into your dreams. It is by dying to your own life that I am invited in and I bring new life. I bring life that is hard to fathom, for it is beyond your wildest dreams.

Oh beloved, trust you life to me. Take your hands off the wheel, let go of the life you’ve created for yourself, let go of the life you want for yourself and come to me. Lay it down, let it die, grieve its loss and look to me. I have been by your side every step of the way and I will continue to be. I will take your life and dreams and future and I will raise them up. I will give them new life. I will give life that can only be experienced as you follow me. It is only in dying to self that you are able to truly experience life. Yes, this again is an invitation to deep belief, for it is your greatest work. Will you die so that you can live?

Come, take hold of me and live.

Pray

I pray that you will know the great love that Jesus has for you.

I pray that you Holy Spirit will show you where you must die to self.

I pray that you will die to your own life and I pray that you will know life, true life in Jesus.

I pray that you will live a new life, in the person of Jesus.

I pray that those who know you and watch you live, will be struck by your new life and want to know where this new life comes from and that you’d be able to speak of Jesus.

Live

Volunteer at a community garden. As you tend to the ground and plants in whatever stage they may be, remember that each seed planted dies before the crop is fruitful!

Leave a Reply

