Drive out and Draw Close

Listen

Now is the time for judgment on this world; now the prince of this world will be driven out. And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.” He said this to show the kind of death he was going to die. John 12:31-33

I want you to know that it is my deepest desire to draw all people to myself and to drive out the evil one from every corner of this earth. I long for people to come to me, for I know it is in me that life is found. I watch as the prince of this world seeks to devour those I love. I see him lie to children and plant seeds of self-contempt, loneliness, hatred, and inadequacy. I see him affirm lies in those I love as they grow. I see people search for meaning and want to know love. I watch them turn to false sources to meet these deepest needs. I watch hearts break. I hear desperate cries. I feel the pain of those I love. The prince of this world loves to kill, steal and destroy, it is his greatest pleasure to watch life come to ruin.

Too often you have believed his lies. You have held onto self-contempt as though it were your own truth. You look for ways to affirm the fact that your life has little value and you seek to find value and love in sources other than me. You go to others, things, activities and even your own self to satisfy your deepest longings for identity and value.

I tell you the truth. I am the way. I am truth. I am life. It is only in me that the prince of this world is destroyed and it is only in me that you will know value and identity. You cannot find life apart from me. You cannot find hope apart from me. You cannot work hard enough, do enough good, be liked by enough people, make enough money, own enough stuff to find value. Come to me as you are weary of these lies. Come to me as you need the restoration I alone can bring. Come to me as your source. Come to me, I will give you rest.

Pray

I pray that you will be drawn in to Jesus.

I pray that Holy Spirit will show you any place where you are holding onto lies of the enemy.

I pray that you will let these lies go and that you will ask God to replace each lie with His truth.

I pray that your life would be marked by belonging to Jesus and that you will walk humbly as your value comes from no source out side of him.

I pray others would be struck by truth in which your life rests and that they too would be drawn into the loving presence of Jesus.

Live

Write a letter to your pastor reminding him or her of their value source. Speak words of life outside of performance. Speak words of hope based on the character of Jesus. Speak words of love based on the life of Savior Jesus. Speak words of truth based on the very truth of Jesus. Pray that God will give you exact words to encourage him or her today.

Leave a Reply

