Because I

Listen

When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you? He asked them. “you call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. Now that I, your Lord and Teacher have washed your feet you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you them. John 13:12-17

Because I served you first, you are able to serve. Because I loved you first, you are able to love. Because I was generous with you first, you are able to be generous. I do not ask anything of you that I do not myself do first.

I have given my very son for you as your example, as your way, as the truth to which you hold, and as your very source of life. This is my greatest gift of love. My son is the perfect expression of my love for you.

He gave his life out of love for you.

He served out of love for you.

He spoke out of love for you.

His motivation at all times was love for me and love for you.

When he gave he did so out of these two loves.

He was obedient to me out of love for me and he served you out of love for you.

You too are invited to live in a similar way.

Serve because you believe I am good and you believe my commands are for your good. Serve out of obedience drenched in love for me and selfless actions of kindness for others smothered in love for people. As you do, you will know my blessing.

Pray

I pray that you will know the depths of the love of Jesus for you.

I pray that Holy Spirit will show you any place where you do not receive this vast love.

I pray that your life would be marked by two loves; a love for Jesus and a love for others.

I pray that your love would continuously point others to Jesus.

Live

Today perform a random act of kindness. Ask the Jesus give you eyes to see need and that you would see where someone needs encouragement, hope, or a simple random provision. Without anyone knowing, do something kind for another out of love for Jesus and the person you choose to serve.

Leave a Reply

