Know Him, Know Me

princeofpeace13Listen

If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.” Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.” Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. John 14:7-10

I sent my son that you might see a picture of me. I sent him so that you would know my heart for you and hear what I long for you to know. I sent him so that you would see my everlasting,deep and abiding love in the flesh. I sent him to identify with you. I sent him to suffer among you. I sent him to show you my heart.

You look for me and at times you look past my son; forgetting that he is in me and I am in him. You wonder where I am and what I think, yet you turn to countless other sources before looking to my son. He is in me and I am in him. When you see him, you see me. This is a fact that will never change.

When you wonder what I think of you, read the words of my son.

When you question how work, look to my son.

When you long for truth to be revealed, go to my son.

When you want to know my heart, root in my son.

When you desire to be close with me, spend time in the story of my son.

He is in me and I am in him. Go to him. Turn to him. Root in him. Listen to him. Run, leap and jump your way to him. As you know him, you will know me.

Pray

I pray that you will turn to Jesus.

I pray that Holy Spirit will show you any place where you are running to sources other than Jesus.

I pray that your life would be shaped by time with Jesus.

I pray that you will read his words and know his heart.

I pray that you would be changed as you know him.

I pray that others will know Jesus as they get to know you.

Live

For one month, read a gospel a week. When there is a word, phrase or concept that sticks out to you, write it down. When there is a story that moves you, tell someone. When there is a question that  arises, ask it. Live in the story of Jesus for one month and let it shape your conversations with those you know.

 

Leave a Reply

