The Spirit of Truth

holy-spirit-colleen-shayListen

 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. John 14:16-17

You long for truth. I know, for you ask for it often. I observe your search for truth. I hear your cries to believe what is good. You struggle to believe truth. It is much more tempting for you to live in deception. You have an enemy and his name is liar. He seeks to destroy you. Through lies he convinces you that you are not valuable. He somehow has convinced you that you are too much or you are not enough. He twists and turns words into thoughts that kill your soul. He is a voice you’ve come to know and unfortunately, his voice is a voice you’ve chosen to believe. 

I have given you a spirit of Truth, MY Spirit. My spirit speaks only that which leads to life. My spirit speaks only that which is true. My spirit is consistent, full of grace, abounding in love and will always speak with wisdom and invite you to believe. 

The voice of the liar is loud in your mind and you’ve made agreements with him in your heart. My spirit, the spirit of truth, is gentle, and kind to you, and will with one whisper wipe out the lies of your enemy. I long for you to believe my voice, through my spirit and believe what I say is truth. 

My beloved, come to me with your thoughts. Speak aloud the thoughts that tell you, you must control, you are shameful, you are not valuable, you must earn forgiveness. Speak aloud the thoughts telling you that I don’t care, that I’m not real, or too busy. Speak aloud the thoughts that cause fear, anxiety, shame and worry. When you speak these lies aloud, confess them as such and ask my spirit to fill you with the spirit of truth. 

My spirit will bring truth to you. My spirit will whisper life into your soul and your spirit will be met with mine and live in life and truth. Turn from the lies of the enemy and cling to the words of truth, given to you by my spirit. 

Pray

I pray you will confess the lies that plague you.

I pray that you will know the spirit of truth which lives in you.

I pray that you will be freed from the lies that bind you and that you would find freedom in truth.

I pray that truth would become the language of your whole self.

I pray that you would know the power of truth in your every day.

I pray that you would give others courage by speaking truth over them.

Live

Do you know a friend who is trapped in a lie? Sometime this week, intentionally speak truth over them and pray that the lies they believe would be replaced by the words of truth and that they would know, deep within them, the Spirit of Truth. 

Leave a Reply

