The gift of presence

UnknownListen

18 I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me.Because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. 21 Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.” John 14:18-21

You are accustomed to people leaving you. You’ve grown familiar with feelings of abandonment. You are acquainted with loneliness. I know in this world you have experienced the pain of rejection and the heart ache of being used and forgotten. These experiences grieve me. These feelings are not a part of my way.

My son is in me and you are found in my son. Therefore, you are in me. I will never leave you nor will I forsake you. I will not abandon you to evil or take you to the depths to leave you there alone. I will not use you for my sake and drop you as though you’re no longer useful to me. I am constant. I am present always. I am with you, even until the very end of the age.

My love for you is much deeper than the love of any man. You can be free in my love, for my love and the gift of my presence are not tied to performance or to behavior of any kind. My love and presence are gifts that are given without condition and are permanent fixtures in your life. These words are true. When you feel the sting of rejection on earth, come to me. When you feel abandoned, turn to me. When you know loneliness, lean into me. I am your home. I am your most constant companion. I am your very source of life, love and presence. My beloved, walk freely in these words, knowing they are not empty thoughts, but the actual reality of being in found my son and my son in me.

Pray

I pray that you would know the power of God’s constant presence.

I pray that you would confess any thoughts or beliefs that say God will leave you if… or when…

I pray that you would know the freedom found in the presence and love of Jesus.

I pray that this promise of presence would lead you to freedom.

I pray that others would recognize this freedom you have and desire to walk in it themselves.

Live

Take time to serve an abandoned people group by giving your presence to them. Do not give a donation, write a letter or send a gift. Instead, give yourself, let your eyes see those which know the sting of rejection and love them through relationship.

 

One thought on “The gift of presence

Leave a Reply

