Pruning

A-new-addition-to-Santa-Fe-s-vineyard-scene_16001322_800899368_0_0_14054436_400Listen

 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. John 15:1-2

I care about the fruit of your life. It is valuable to me. The fruit of your life is the evidence of your root system and also my love for you. When I cut off branches that are growing wildly or are unhealthy,  I am loving you. When I cut off branches simply because you have too much going on and the sheer amount of branches you have can not be sustained, I am loving you. When I cut off branches that are healthy, so that they’ll grow with greater strength, I am loving you. When I prune your life, I am loving you. 

I know pruning is painful. Pruning, to the inattentive heart can feel like punishment or cruelty, for it is painful. But I am not cruel. I prune out of love and deep care and pruning is always for your good. Your life will bear more fruit, good fruit, as I cut off that which will steal from your life or inhibit growth. 

When it feels as though you are being shaped or stripped in some way, ask me to show you what I’m doing. Ask me to show you where I’m working in you. When the pain of pruning is felt, pray for belief. Pray for increased trust and welcome me as the gardener of your life. 

Pray

I pray that you would trust that God is good.

I pray that you would believe that He prunes and cuts out, for your good.

I pray that you would trust that God is doing a miraculous thing in you.

I pray that you will welcome God’s pruning in your life.

I pray that you would seek it.

I pray that others would be blessed by the fruit you grow. 

Live

If you live near a winery, grab a friend who is going through a season of being pruned and allow your surroundings to be an encouraging metaphor. If you do not, grab a bottle of wine and a few friends and talk about a time in life where you now know you were being pruned. Encourage one another with your stories. 

Leave a Reply

