The vine and life

Old_vine_cabernetListen

You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. John 15:3-4

Truth has it that a branch that is not connected to a vine is dead. It is of no use, except to be used as firewood. All branches must be connected to the vine, to a tree, to the stem, to the stalk, every branch no matter how big must remain in a life source. I am your life source. Therefore, remain, take root in, make your home in, me.

I know that at times the word pictures I paint are difficult to understand. I know that you want a straight answer, a formula. I however am bigger than formulas. I’m larger than a simple answer. Word pictures paint the most accurate way of relating to me. This picture holds deep truth for you. You must learn to remain in me. You must gain your identity from me. You must be given your value from me. For apart from me you swim from here to there trying to obtain value as best you can. You try to fit your branch into other life sources. But when you seek to connect your branch to something other than me, it is as though you are a tree branch seeking to obtain life through a dead corn stalk, it simply will never work.

When you remain in me, you are choosing to identify with me, find your identity as my child and live in the complete value which I give. This value can never be earned and therefore can never be taken away. My beloved, it is my desire that you have life, abundant and full, this can only happen when you are attached to me, the true vine.

Pray

I pray that you would remain in Jesus.

I pray that you would find and live in your identity as a child of God.

I pray that you would know value that can never be earned or lost.

I pray that you would know the life that comes from being attached to the vine.

I pray that your life would be a light to others, pointing the way to the the true life source, Jesus.

Live

Gather a few friends together and ask them from where they obtain their identity. Talk about Jesus as the true source of identity. What are the ramifications of identity found  and lived in Jesus versus identity found and lived in others, things and activities?

 

Leave a Reply

