Roots, fruit and nothing

bareroottreeListen

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples. John 15:5-8

My beloved, mine is the way of life. My son invites you to take up root in him, my son and I are one, therefore, by taking root in him, you root also in me. Where you find your life source is an important matter. Take your nutrients from me, and my words for you. Mine is the way of hope. Derive your hope from me. Mine is the way of love. Soak up the love of my fertile soil and allow it to richly feed you. Mine is the way of truth. Surround yourself with my words, letting them give to your life, forming you and teaching you. Oh my beloved, it is kindness that invites you to take up root in me and my son. Let my kindness richly form you. Let my kindness lead you away from false sources and lead you to the way of life.

When you take up root in me, my life, my hope, my love and my truth your life will bare the fruit of my spirit. The world around you will see that you follow a way not of this world.  They will question you and wonder from where it is that you have learned to live. They will see light in you. They will see my hope springing up from you in the midst of the most challenging circumstances. They will see me.

It is good that others see me in you, for you are my ambassador. You represent me as you walk through each day. Your life takes on the characteristics of my life, as you remain in me, as you root yourself in me. It is a glorious thing, when I your Father, see the fruit of your life as you remain in me. My heart aches for your life to know this truth with your whole being. Root yourself in me. Plant your self in the rich soil of my life and remain in me. For apart from me, you can literally do nothing.

Pray

I pray that you will remain in Jesus.

I pray that you will know the power of life that comes from being rooted in the truth of God.

I pray that your life will draw others to the Father.

I pray that you will know the benefits of the way of life being fed to you through a root system, planted in Jesus.

I pray that your life would lead others to life.

Live

As you walk today look around you at the vegetation. What do you see? What do you notice? Can you tell what kind of plant it is by it’s leaves, color and fruit? Ask Jesus to reveal his way to you. When you have a thought to remember a friend, call someone, encourage someone, smile at someone, go visit someone, perform a random act of kindness, give a gift or simply look someone in the eye. Do not hesitate, follow your thought with action. Watch as you follow these promptings, how the fruit of life is shown as you live out the good grown in you through a root system in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

