Lay it down

Open HandsListen

10 If you keep my commands,you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11 I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. 12 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

You do not naturally lay your life down. It is not within you to do so on your own accord. It is my love living through you that enables you to lay aside self for the sake of another. This is the way of love.

There is no greater love, than one who lays down his own life for the life of a friend. My son gave his life up for you. He put aside his rights, his attributes, his royalty and ultimately his human life out of love. His joy was complete.

My love for you is deep and enables you to live a life of love and sacrifice much like my son’s. My love breathes life into you and gives you the ability to step aside to let another be seen. My love is not human. It does not come with condition. You too can love this way as you remain in me. This is the greatest command, for when you remain in perfect love, you are able to give love that is steeped in joy and sacrifice. This is the kind of love that humans long for and do not understand. This is the kind of love that sets prisoners free. This is the kind of love that heals and makes beauty from ashes. When one loves by laying down rights, time, position and even one’s own life, I am seen, for this love is not natural.

Lay down your life my child. When you do, you will know a complete joy and you will show a watching world a glimpse of me.

Pray

I pray that you will know the deep love of Jesus.

I pray that you will remain in the love of Jesus.

I pray that you will trust in his complete way.

I pray that you will love sacrificially.

I pray that your life will point others to Jesus.

I pray that you will know the joy of laying your life down for others.

Live

Are there things on your to do list that are getting in the way of relationship with someone? Go through your schedule and see what you might be able to lay down, so that you might be able to love someone else with your time.

Leave a Reply

