Be you, rabbit trailing and the Kingdom of God

Just-Be-YouToday I sat at my normal table at Solid Grounds where I have set up an ad-hoc office. Through out the day I was interrupted by several people. One woman who also frequents the shop came and checked in. I told her a bit of the goings on of my last week and she wanted me to meet her husband. He and I talked and she mentioned, “tell Larry about your car.” I proceed to tell Larry the story and his demeanor changes when I mention Salina, UT. He proceeds to tell me of similar stories in his life that have take place in the exact spot of my break down. A small part of the story, but an immediate connection was made.

Secondly a young woman who works at the shop stops by my table. She and I talk a bit. She shares a bit of her story and I speak some of the things I’m learning lately. Man, I can be wordy. I say, “We may not get to choose our circumstances, but we always get to choose our response.” Immediately her demeanor changes and tears surface. She mentioned how she needed to hear those words. A random, passing thought, that has come from the past week of my life and just going with my train of thought I was able to encourage another. A sentence, but courage was given.

Lastly a man came and joined me. We started talking about life and such. I was talking with the best of them. All kinds of stories of God’s faithfulness and choosing to risk and trust. I realized I had been talking more than listening and paused for a moment. I said, “That was a lot of talking.” He agreed. Jokingly I said, “Yeah, maybe you sat at the wrong table.” He again paused and said, “maybe I sat at the right one.” He went into his head as he was mulling over all that was discussed. He didn’t speak much, but something happened for him. I don’t know if he needed to be reminded of something or if he was invited into faith in a new way, but we had a holy moment in the middle of the coffee shop. A story or two, and God prompted thoughts of growth and invited us both into deeper dependence.

The mundane of life is never mundane to our Creator. He is strategic, even to the point of allowing my rabbit trails to be words that encourage others, invite others, connect with others. I wonder if rabbit trails and a talkative nature can be gifts of the Spirit? The very thing I would like to be able to change about me, God uses to connect, give hope through, give courage away through.

I’m strangely encouraged today. I feel as though I’ve sat with Jesus and have been able to see others through his eyes. I feel as though we were conspirators today. Conspirators to give hope, courage and life to others through me being…. well… me.

Be you.

As you root yourself in Jesus and entrust him with your very life, be you.

Be completely you.

Be completely solely you, connected to your Savior and watch how God uses all of you for His Kingdom purposes.

Leave a Reply

