Yet. My favorite word

As I walk through life and as I walk with many through the stories of their lives I’ve come to know that it is not the lack of darkness, sadness, loneliness and suffering that is the goal. Instead, the goal shall be this, that in the midst of darkness, sadness, loneliness and suffering we are able to declare the truth found in the silent Yet of life with Jesus.

The silent Yet is imperative and it enables us to hold opposing truths.  I feel alone, (yet) I am never alone. Whether it be truths of our experience in Christ, or it be truths of who God is, these truths do not ebb and flow based on our life experiences. These truths will always be true and these truths change our perspective in the midst of our circumstance. Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, (yet) I will fear no evil for You are with me. You are my protection and my footing.

Yet has become one of my favorite words in scripture and it has changed the way I live, pray and experience God. As you read the words below my prayer is that you will experience the power of Yet in your own story. May the God, who enables the Yet, be the truth to which you hold and the rock on which you stand.

I am the beloved.

When I feel rejected. Even when I feel alone.

I am the beloved.

When the day feels dark and that darkness overwhelms me;

The darkness is not dark to Him, for darkness shines like the day.

I am the beloved.

When loss is a part of the story and the air thick like the deep south on a hot August day.

I am the beloved.

When I am invisible.

I am chosen.

Even when the enemy is surrounding me and I feel abandoned.

I am chosen.

Even when the day feels long and the heart feels sick.

I am chosen.

Even when the fight is great and the sun beats down.

I am chosen.

Even when loneliness is my companion.

I am adored.

Even when my smile hides the truth.

I am adored.

Even when my smile holds the truth.

I am adored.

Even when I feel withered.

I am adored.

Even when I fail and I do not shine.

I am adored.

Even when I am surrounded on all sides.

I am held.

Even when the enemy stands against me.

I am held.

Even when death is near.

I am held.

Even when I am alone.

I am held.

Even when I am in the thick of impossible.

I believe.

Even when it appears I will be swallowed up by the beast.

I believe.

Even when peril is at my doorstep.

I believe.

Even when I don’t have what it takes, and all feels out of my control.

I believe.

Even when the storm is great and the waves threaten my life.

I believe.

Even when life tastes bitter.

I will praise.

Even when my heart aches.

I will praise.

Even when my dreams are left wanting.

I will praise.

Even when it feels as though You oh Lord have led me into the hands of despair.

I will praise.

Even when….

YET

I …

 

 

Leave a Reply

