The grace of pain

Two words immediately came to mind as I reflected on 2014; grace and pain.

These two words do not normally coexist.  For this past year and honestly for the past four, I have experienced such depths of grace my life will never look the same. The grace however came in the most unexpected package. The grace came in pain.

I believe pain to be one of the most powerful of places to encounter grace. Pain leads us to a truer humanity and it is an invitation to belief that is life altering.

As I enter 2015, I am thankful for the grace found in pain.

And, though I do not wish pain on self or others, I do receive the grace found in it as a gift.

May I choose to engage pain with grace and may that grace be my teacher.

Leave a Reply

