Six results that evidence belief

Perspective matters. Internal dialogue is crucial.  The words I choose are incredibly important. And, how I decide to engage all that is before me sets the tone for how I will engage all that is before me.

Isaiah 26:3 says, “You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.”

If I believed all of the things I say I believe about who God is and what He is like, my internal dialogue, perspective, words, and engagement of all that is in front of me would be held in a perspective that gives peace. When I know anxiety, the first question before me is to ask, what is my anxiety revealing about my belief.

God, I believe, is good and right and perfect. I believe He is always coming after me with love. I believe He is always seeking connection with me and desiring me to live free of shame and unacceptability. I believe I was made in His image and that I am loved, valued, purposed, chosen, and accepted.

When I believe these to be true, I engage life with confident humility.

When I believe these to be true, I walk into fear rather than run away from it.

When I believe these to be true, I see nothing as impossible and live expecting to see and experience good.

When I believe these to be true, I give myself to others without need for a value transaction. For I do not need others to love me to be acceptable. I simply can love with freedom.

When I believe these to be true, I receive from others freely as their gifts commingle with what is true rather than seek to set expectation, or be rejected because there is no way an other could give without expecting something in return.

When I believe these to be true, I am free.

May you and I live in response to our trust in His goodness and may we know the freedom that comes as a result of that trust.

Leave a Reply

