A manifest of belief when we are tempted to doubt

I love you Lord and I believe in you. I believe in your good for me. I believe that though I do not feel it, I know that you are here. I believe that though the things I dream are still in the closet of my life, I believe that your good is beyond my understanding and that I will stand in the promise of your character and your good for me. I believe that you are the source of all good things and that in this life we will have sadness, sorrow and grief. I will not always see the end as I am in the middle, but I believe that you are the God who holds the entirety of the story and in the end, your love guides the story with grace and with beauty. Your love invites me to turn to you, when my heart is aching. Your love invites me to receive you when my dreams have died. Your love invites me to hold fast to the promise of your character in the middle of felt endings. Your love, oh Lord, is life itself and in it I choose to place my life.

I believe that you hold today. I believe that you held yesterday and I believe that you hold tomorrow. I believe that though I do not know it, you are complete and good and true and in the felt pain of today, you are holding the whole story that does not end in my demise. I believe that your truth is beyond my present moment and that in today your grace is sufficient for me.

I believe that this moment, as I type these words is a gift of eternity now; the second of time between the past and the present second. And, in this now, you hold me with such great strength that your heart seems to be directing the melody of my own. Your tears, fall in perfect rhythm with my own and melt into my tears as if they are your very own.

Our tears tell a story of togetherness only made possible by complete relationship. Our tears, tell a story of love and grace and beauty. Our tears tell the story of the now and the hope of the not yet. Our tears tell the story of Saturday with the realization Sunday is coming.

I believe that you are mine. I believe I am yours. I believe that our togetherness is evidenced in the love received and given. I believe that I belong to a story much wider than this moment. I believe that your character is not to be measured by my experience as a human. I believe that you are greater than the ache of my heart and the longings of my soul. I believe that these things point me to you. I believe that these things evidence the two faces of love, sorrow and joy. I believe that all good I know is because of you. I believe that all good I can taste is from your hand. I believe that you know. You see. You hold. You give. You guide. You keep. You alone are enough and in you I place my trust.

One thought on “A manifest of belief when we are tempted to doubt

Leave a Reply

