With or without words

Thought Bubble

Have you ever been through an experience or season where words simply didn’t work? Either they failed to adequately describe thoughts or emotions or they simply were unable to paint an accurate picture of the beauty or pain of a particular experience.

The last two years of my life have felt wordless. Though I used thousands of words, they all felt inept. I had no idea how to describe what I was experiencing, though something felt sacred about the season.

This season abruptly came to an end on Monday. I had a conversation with a wise friend and in it, we both agreed this season, of depth and discovery, had come to it’s natural end. That was Monday.

Today, for the first time in two years I woke up with words.

I don’t know how all of these things work and to be honest I don’t know what words will show up on the page or screen, but I do know that the wordless season has given way into something new.

As you go through a season of rejoicing or lamenting, I pray that you will give yourself freedom to experience the season, speak the words you have and have grace for yourself with the words you only feel but can’t voice. Be where you are… for, eventually the words and understanding will come.

With curiosity for the words to come….

 

Leave a Reply

