Praying through the Psalms

img_1391Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night

That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither- whatever they do prospers.

Not so with the wicked! They are life chaff that the wind blows away. Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgement nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous. For the Lord watches over the way of the righteous, but the way of the wicked leads to destruction.  Psalm 1

My beloved, do not model your steps after those who have their faces hidden from me. Do not sit with those who have chosen darkness over light and mock the good light brings. Do not plant yourself in the soil of the world. These things do not bear good and life giving fruit, and in fact, they add a burden to your days.

Instead, model your steps after my son Jesus. Sit with Him and plant yourself in Him. Jesus is the living water and in Him you will grow in life and good. The tree of your life will grow with branches stretching towards the sky and fruit that comes when the season is ready and your fruit will be a gift to nourish those around you.

Oh my beloved, your life is of great value to me and I watch over you with love and tender care. I will always lead you towards life. Always. Don’t be fooled by the wisdom of this world. It may sound good, but it is a dangerous foe dressed as light.

PRAY

Lord God, Maker of heaven and earth, Creator of all that is good and right and perfect, thank you for the gift of Jesus. Thank you that in Him I can learn the way of life. I ask that you would grow the roots of my life in Him and that He would be set before me as my daily guide.

I confess that at times I am compelled to follow after the ways of the world, where comfort is better than good and where love has been watered down to mere tolerance. Forgive me and turn me towards you, fill me with your good and teach me of your love. Amen

 

One thought on “Praying through the Psalms

Leave a Reply

