Praying the Psalms: Fill my heart with joy

image-1-2For the director of music. With stringed instruments. A psalm of David.

1 Answer me when I call to you,
my righteous God.
Give me relief from my distress;
have mercy on me and hear my prayer.
2 How long will you people turn my glory into shame?
How long will you love delusions and seek false gods
3 Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself;
the Lord hears when I call to him.
4 Tremble and do not sin;
when you are on your beds,
search your hearts and be silent.
5 Offer the sacrifices of the righteous
and trust in the Lord.
6 Many, Lord, are asking, “Who will bring us prosperity?”
Let the light of your face shine on us.
7 Fill my heart with joy
when their grain and new wine abound.
8 In peace I will lie down and sleep,
for you alone, Lord,
make me dwell in safety. Psalm 4

I hear you. I hear your secret cries. I hear the longings of your heart. I hear your distress and I hear you wonderings. I hear your questions and I hear your desire for me.

I know you. I know your hopes. I know when you turn to false gods. I know when you grow weary and find delusions more palpable than my faithfulness. I know your fears. I know your desire for me.

I see you. I see you in your trembling. I see your face turned towards me. I see you as you lie down. I see your desire for me.

I hear. I know. I see. Your vision is set towards me and my compassionate love is yours. In all these things my mercy is yours. My comfort is yours. My joy is yours. My righteousness is yours. My safety is yours. For I love you by beloved.

PRAY

Lord, I need you. Today I am tired and I need to know the safety that comes from you. I need your peace to envelop me as I go throughout my day and as I lay down at night. Lord I need you to fill my mind with the things of your Kingdom and your good.

Forgive me when I turn towards false gods and delusions for it can feel so much easier to run to what is offered by the world. Thank you that you do not turn your face from me when I turn from you. Let me dwell in you, look to you, hear you and know you. May I know that in you I am heard, known and seen for your love for me is beyond understanding. Amen.

Leave a Reply

