Praying through the Psalms:This kingdom is not my home

image-1-2For the director of music. With stringed instruments. According to sheminith.[b] A psalm of David.

1 Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger
or discipline me in your wrath.
2 Have mercy on me, Lord, for I am faint;
heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony.
3 My soul is in deep anguish.
How long, Lord, how long?
4 Turn, Lord, and deliver me;
save me because of your unfailing love.
5 Among the dead no one proclaims your name.
Who praises you from the grave?
6 I am worn out from my groaning.
All night long I flood my bed with weeping
and drench my couch with tears.
7 My eyes grow weak with sorrow;
they fail because of all my foes.
8 Away from me, all you who do evil,
for the Lord has heard my weeping.
9 The Lord has heard my cry for mercy;
the Lord accepts my prayer.
10 All my enemies will be overwhelmed with shame and anguish;
they will turn back and suddenly be put to shame. Psalm 6

You are tired, worn out and burned out. You are ravished by grief and anguished by the darkness of the world. You know that all is not right and you are in need of rescue. Turn to me.

In your waiting, in your living days, in your groaning, in your tears, in your sorrow, in your rub against evil I am with you. I am the good you encounter along the way. I am the breath in your lungs that sustains you. I am the rock on which you stand. I am turned towards you always with loving kindness.

In this world you know the effects of life apart from me. You feel the anguish of the earth and your heart grows faint with in you. Come to me with your complaints. Come to me with your felt despair. Come to me with your darkness. Believe in me. Believe in my son, Jesus. Believe that my spirit is present and at work and is with you and for you. Come. Believe. And receive; life, love, joy, gladness, hope, peace and restoration.

PRAY

Father I can not bare the pain of this world. To my right and to my left it seems that all is lost. I feel only glimpses of light and I am weary of standing under the weight of darkness. Forgive me for turning to the world for my comfort. Forgive me for believing in men and women and self over you. Forgive me for holding the weight of the world as though it is my burden to bare.

Remind me that there is no shame in You and in your family. You have restored all and in all things at all times you are with me and it is in your strength and power and might that I am able to stand against the current of the world. Foster in me a spirit of reliant upon you, rooted in Jesus and grafted into the Family of God. Teach me the way of your kingdom, as the kingdom of this world is not my home. Amen

Leave a Reply

