Praying the Psalms: A Majestic Name

image-1-2-2For the director of music. According to gittith.[b] A psalm of David.

1 Lord, our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!
You have set your glory
in the heavens.
2 Through the praise of children and infants
you have established a stronghold against your enemies,
to silence the foe and the avenger.
3 When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place,
4 what is mankind that you are mindful of them,
human beings that you care for them?
5 You have made them a little lower than the angels
and crowned them with glory and honor.
6 You made them rulers over the works of your hands;
you put everything under their feet:
7 all flocks and herds,
and the animals of the wild,
8 the birds in the sky,
and the fish in the sea,
all that swim the paths of the seas.
9 Lord, our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth! Psalm 8

I have gifted you with the beauty and wonder of the world in which you live. The flowers, birds, trees, grass, sky, oceans and mountains were formed by my words. The wind, rain, thunder, lighting and snow come and go as a result of my imagination and plan. You experience my glory and it makes me glad.

I alone am Creator, Sustainer and Ruler. I am mighty, holy, gracious, creative, and powerful. And it is out of love for you that I know your name. I know the details of your heart, the number of hairs on your head, each tear that is seen and unseen.  I know these things, because they matter to me. You matter to me. I hold you in my majesty and decorate the earth with beauty so that you might get the smallest glimpse of me and my love. On this day, rejoice and be glad, for my name is good and my glory fills the whole earth. Breathe it in, receive it as a gift and walk in it. My beloved, your praises evidence that you see me too and I am glad.

PRAY

Lord in all circumstances give me eyes to see your glory. Enhance my vision with wonder and awe for you. May I believe that your love for me is great and deep and long and high and wide. May I believe that your love for me is intended for me to receive. Rid me of the clutter and clamor of my mind and will and heart, that I might be available to receive you, who is full of glory.

Forgive me for searching for glory of my own and draw me nearer to your heart. You alone are great and most worthy of all praise. On this day, may the worries of my heart and concerns for this world vanish as a vapor and give way to a firm stance in the wonder of your goodness, mercy, majesty and care. Amen

Leave a Reply

