Praying the Psalms: In the presence of darkness

image-1-1-3In the Lord I take refuge.
How then can you say to me:
“Flee like a bird to your mountain.
2 For look, the wicked bend their bows;
they set their arrows against the strings
to shoot from the shadows
at the upright in heart.
3 When the foundations are being destroyed,
what can the righteous do?”
4 The Lord is in his holy temple;
the Lord is on his heavenly throne.
He observes everyone on earth;
his eyes examine them.
5 The Lord examines the righteous,
but the wicked, those who love violence,
he hates with a passion.
6 On the wicked he will rain
fiery coals and burning sulfur;
a scorching wind will be their lot.
7 For the Lord is righteous,
he loves justice;
the upright will see his face. Psalm 11

I abhor wickedness. I detest deceit. I will not stand with violence. I despise tyranny. I the Lord your God and good. I am slow to anger. I am mighty and righteous. I am full of grace. I am loving, holy and I am full of beauty. I am always moving toward you in my love for you. I long for you to believe in my son, the very picture of love. For in him you will know love and be freed from tyranny. No, you will not escape the reality of evil on this earth, but in my son, you will have freedom even as evil presses in. You will have hope, when it seems there is none to be found. You will long for good and pursue it, for good will become the language of your heart.

In my son, Jesus, there is good to be found. And in him, evil scatters, its power is can not stand, and in Jesus the wickedness found on this earth will be as hot coals smothered by rain. In this world, you will have trouble, for the world does not know the language of good. But take heart, lean into me and my way, for I, I have overcome the world. And in my son, you too, will overcome.

PRAY

Lord I need your presence to face the darkness of this world. I need your hope for I can find myself hopeless. I need your good, for the good of this world often feels evil. I need your strength, for the evil coming against me feels powerful. I need your grace, to love all around me.

May I hide myself in you and find my hope there. You alone are good. You alone are love. You alone are wise. You alone are holy. You alone know the way of life, for you are the truth that is the way of life. Lord, be my help. Help this land. Help those who do not stand against evil, but fall under its presence. Lord, may your justice and your righteousness reign, may your kingdom come and your will be done. Amen

Leave a Reply

