Praying the Psalms:The cry of the afflicted

image-1-3Why, Lord, do you stand far off?
Why do you hide yourself in times of trouble?
2 In his arrogance the wicked man hunts down the weak,
who are caught in the schemes he devises.
3 He boasts about the cravings of his heart;
he blesses the greedy and reviles the Lord.
4 In his pride the wicked man does not seek him;
in all his thoughts there is no room for God.
5 His ways are always prosperous;
your laws are rejected by[b] him;
he sneers at all his enemies.
6 He says to himself, “Nothing will ever shake me.”
He swears, “No one will ever do me harm.”
7 His mouth is full of lies and threats;
trouble and evil are under his tongue.
8 He lies in wait near the villages;
from ambush he murders the innocent.
His eyes watch in secret for his victims;
9 like a lion in cover he lies in wait.
He lies in wait to catch the helpless;
he catches the helpless and drags them off in his net.
10 His victims are crushed, they collapse;
they fall under his strength.
11 He says to himself, “God will never notice;
he covers his face and never sees.”
12 Arise, Lord! Lift up your hand, O God.
Do not forget the helpless.
13 Why does the wicked man revile God?
Why does he say to himself,
“He won’t call me to account”?
14 But you, God, see the trouble of the afflicted;
you consider their grief and take it in hand.
The victims commit themselves to you;
you are the helper of the fatherless.
15 Break the arm of the wicked man;
call the evildoer to account for his wickedness
that would not otherwise be found out.
16 The Lord is King for ever and ever;
the nations will perish from his land.
17 You, Lord, hear the desire of the afflicted;
you encourage them, and you listen to their cry,
18 defending the fatherless and the oppressed,
so that mere earthly mortals
will never again strike terror. Psalm 10

My dear children, evil seeks to destroy you at every side. There are many who seek to oppress and cast down, those who bare my image. There are many who take advantage of the poor, the lonely, the weak and the cast aside. There are many who come after with violence in word, thought and deed. There are many who strike down, cast out, deceive and victimize. I am the Lord of the outcast. I am the Lord of the weak. I am the Lord of the lowly. I hear the cry of the afflicted. I am a father to the fatherless. I am Love itself and I invite all to find refuge in me.

You my children, live in my love and allow the power of my love to overflow into the lives of others. Where there are victims, bring my freedom. Where there are those who live in fear, give my courage. Where there are those who cower, lift them up in my name. Where tyrants thrive, do not hand your power to them or shudder in fear, instead know that I stand with you. Where there are those cast aside, include in my gracious all encompassing love. Where there are those who are weak, know that my strength is with them. Where there is hatred, give my love.

PRAY

Lord, allow your love to encompass those who scatter the earth. Give your strength to me that I might stand where it is uncomfortable and with those with whom I might differ. Give me boldness to love all people, both the tyrant and the tyrannized. Lord I can do no good thing a part from you and so I ask that you would grow in me love that overflows into the lives of all people.

Forgive me Lord for resting only on my knowledge and experience. Forgive me for hiding when I’ve been invited to shine. Forgive me for looking out only for my interest and not those of others. Grow in me. Heal me, that I might show up whole and offer myself to you. Amen

Leave a Reply

