Praying through the Psalms:The Lord looks down from heaven

Image-1-4.jpgFor the director of music. Of David.

1 The fool[a] says in his heart,
“There is no God.”
They are corrupt, their deeds are vile;
there is no one who does good.
2 The Lord looks down from heaven
on all mankind
to see if there are any who understand,
any who seek God.
3 All have turned away, all have become corrupt;
there is no one who does good,
not even one.
4 Do all these evildoers know nothing?
They devour my people as though eating bread;
they never call on the Lord.
5 But there they are, overwhelmed with dread,
for God is present in the company of the righteous.
6 You evildoers frustrate the plans of the poor,
but the Lord is their refuge.
7 Oh, that salvation for Israel would come out of Zion!
When the Lord restores his people,
let Jacob rejoice and Israel be glad! Psalm 14

Grace is mine to give you. As I look upon you I know that you have turned away from me. I know that you look to other things to fulfill you and that you seek your own pleasure over my good. I know that your cravings while on this earth seem to rule you more than my good. I continue to love you. My love for you does not wax and wane. My love for you is not based in your performance as a human. In fact my love for you has nothing to do with how you live while you are on earth.

I long for better for you. I cry with you in the darkness you feel. I so desire for you to trust that what I define as good, is actually the good that will fulfill you. I will never force you to love me, nor will I control you to do as I please. I will only stay, face turned toward you, hands out stretched to you and words spoken to invite you to live in the way that is true that will lead to life. Trust me. Trust my way. I am your true salvation. I am your true life source.

PRAY

Lord, I am stuck. I feel controlled by the cravings of my stomach. I feel controlled by the thoughts of my mind. I feel as though I’ve become a slave to the vindictive desires within me. I confess that at times I do not believe your way will fulfill me. I confess that I want my way and am willing to step out of the way of life to be satisfied by the desires of the world.

Lord the desires of this world lead me to death. They entrap me with suffocating force and I am weighed down. Forgive me for giving in, over and over and over. Rescue me from my self and give me the courage to stand against that which seeks to victimize me. Be my source, my hope, my salvation and my way. Amen

Leave a Reply

