Daily Practices for Lent: Day 8

cropped-photo-3.jpgLast night I shared a meal with a good friend and her adult daughter. Her daughter, whom I had not met, prepared our meal. Sprigs of rosemary were atop perfectly cooked chicken. Kale was being sautéed in garlic and olive oil with tomatoes. Blood oranges were being prepared in the pan on the next burner over and sweet potatoes were being pulled out of the oven. The smells and colors were so enticing that I could not wait to take my first bight. She plated the chicken on top of the sweet potato, oranges on top of that and then topped it off with a mixture of chickpea, olive, and feta. The kale tomato sauté was then plated and we sat down.

The sights and smells were amazing. As I took my first bight I sunk into the flavor. It was perfectly delicious. The meal looked beautiful and smelled amazing and the taste confirmed its worth and it was so good.

A few years ago i was preparing a meal for some friends. It was fall so dessert consisted of a beautifully prepared apple crisp. I didn’t have the recipe with me, so I made it up. I couldn’t remember what I used to thicken the juice of the apple, so I added a few things and didn’t think much of it. I’ve been good at improvising in the kitchen for a long time, so this was not a new or nerve wrecking situation for me. The home was filled with the smell of baked apples and every person who walked in commented on how they couldn’t wait for dessert. We finished our meal, pulled the apple crisp out of the oven, topped it with vanilla ice cream and each of us took our first bight. Silence, not one noise. I immediately winced, it was awful! The smell was incredible but the taste, oh the taste immediately gave away the fact that it was not good.

Taste is a sure sign of a food’s worth. Taste reveals whether or not something is good. There is a saying used after a situation that just didn’t end well, “it left a bad taste in my mouth.” Or on the other end of the spectrum when a time with good friends ends and it was filled with good we might say, “I just want to savor this evening, it was so good.” Taste reveals goodness.  Psalm 34:8 says, “Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.” Taste reveals the goodness of the Lord.

Today’s practice is:Taste

It is an abstract thought to think of tasting the goodness of Jesus. To practice tasting the Lord, it is in experiencing his goodness with our whole being and savoring it. Write or think about a time when you had an experience with Jesus that was so good, you wanted to savor it. If you were to describe the goodness that was tasted, how would you describe your encounter with Jesus and Jesus himself?

Through out you day, whenever you eat or drink, pay attention. Thank the Lord for his goodness each time you take a bight or sip a favorite beverage. Pay attention to the goodness you encounter with food and intentionally remember one attribute of the character of Jesus, or a memory of encountering him that was good and rich.

Listen to this song. I believe it is what the lyricist experiences when he or she tasted the goodness of Jesus. Your Great Name Like the taste of good food, the sound of the name of Jesus evokes something in us. What is the taste that is savored at the thought of Jesus.

Pray: Father you are good and beautiful and true. You give us relationship with you through your son Jesus and it is such a gift. May I know with every step of my day that you are present and that you bring good and joy and strength and power. May even the food I eat today remind me of your goodness. Fill me with yourself and use my senses to experience and declare your goodness.

Leave a Reply

