Daily Practices for Lent: Day 9

cropped-photo-3.jpgA number of years ago I bought the RENT soundtrack. It was a new musical that had rave reviews. The story was that of a young film maker, full of angst and his community of friends, all of whom were on the edges of society in some way. The musical is gritty and the story filled with the longings found in loneliness and the search for love or whatever substitute one might find.

There is one particular song that instantaneously caused me pause and tears instantly reached the surface of my eyes. The song, “Will I.” It is the cry of a group of men and women in an HIV/AIDS support group. They lyrics go as follows:

Will I lose my dignity?
Will someone care?
Will I wake tomorrow
From this nightmare?

Will I lose my dignity?
Will someone care?
Will I wake tomorrow
From this nightmare?

Will I lose my dignity?
Will someone care?
Will I wake tomorrow
From this nightmare?

Will I lose my dignity?
Will someone care?
Will I wake tomorrow
From this nightmare?

The ache of the lonely. I thought of this song last night. I thought how there are messages everywhere, prayers of people and thoughts of longing for connection that truly only Jesus can fill. Really good music and great stories speak to our need, the ache we carry, the longings we have, the deeply human experience we each live. It is in this place that Jesus steps into.

Today’s practice is: Searching

Listen to this song. What longing do you hear? Think of other songs or stories, what is revealed about the human experience? What is revealed about Jesus, that he entered into the story we find ourself in.

Search the noise you hear today, the music you listen to, the posts people post, the anger, resentment or fears of those around you and look for entry points for Jesus. What need is being expressed? What fear? What shame? Instead of instantly judging a song, movie, post and the like, take time to ask Jesus to show you what he sees or hears. Then ask Jesus to show you how he is the answer to or the remedy for the need surfaced.

Listen: Will I?

Pray: Father, thank you for Jesus who entered the world. Thank you Jesus for coming into the dark to bring your light. Thank you Jesus for bringing life where there is death. Thank you for bringing strength where there is weakness. Thank you for bringing a third way when division and sides are much louder than unity. Thank you for the power of the cross and for your lavish love expressed on it. Give me eyes to see others as you see them and give me ears to hear and give me a heart that responds with compassion rather than judgment. Thank you for meeting me in my humanity and blessing me in it. Amen

 

One thought on “Daily Practices for Lent: Day 9

Leave a Reply

