Daily Practices for Lent: Day 17

cropped-photo-3.jpgSometimes hallelujah is a choice and other times it is a natural overflow of how we are responding to the evident goodness of Jesus in our lives. Yesterday was a day for me where hallelujah was a choice. And, by the end of the day, I was able to thank Jesus for the day I was given.

Today, I woke up with a new perspective and a new song.

Today’s practice is: Choose Hallelujah (God be Praised)

Take a moment to write down all the good you can think of in your life. Read your list aloud  and say Hallelujah after each phrase or word. Then create a list where Hallelujah might not be the first word that comes to mind, it might be a list of very difficult things or areas of challenge for you. Read that list aloud also and again follow each item on the list with Hallelujah. For, we do not say Hallelujah based on our life circumstance, but because of God’s character which never changes. Hallelujah.

Throughout your day, say Hallelujah when decisions are made, or circumstances come that are not what you thought, or better than you thought. Say Hallelujah as a way to keep praise on your lips all day long.

Listen: I woke up with this gospel hymn on my mind. Turn it up! Sing along! Revive Us Again.

Pray: Father thank you for Jesus and thank you that in all circumstances I can say thank you, hallelujah and ask you to revive every part of me. I pray today that I would give you praise in all circumstances and that your goodness and character would be the source of my joy, over the circumstances of my life. Amen

Leave a Reply

