Daily Practices for Lent: Day 24

I woke up this morning and the words of one of my favorite hymns were in my head, ‘Great is thy faithfulness.’ This hymn has grown on me with each year. It was a standard in the church in which I grew up. I would sing, but the words did not mean much. The years passed and the hymn was still sung. Each year added a deeper understanding and appreciation for the hymn writers words.

One Thanksgiving my Grandma Dorothy and I stayed back from a Thanksgiving Eve service together, as she was hard of hearing and could not hear the service, and we spoke of our favorite hymns and sang them together. This was one of her favorites. We sat on a chair together and sang, “Great is Thy faithfulness oh God my father. There is no shadow of turning with Thee. All I have needed Thy hand hath provided. Great is Thy Faithfulness, Lord unto me. ”

We sang the words and cried as we shared the ways that God had been faithful to us that year. Singing hymns or songs to God is a way of declaring, praying and remembering. When I sing ‘Great is Thy Faithfulness’ I am remembering how God has been faithful, praying that I will know he is faithful and declare that he always is and will be faithful.

Today’s practice is: Sing or listen to music that reminds you of the goodness of Jesus

Listen: I chose this version, for Donnie sings as though he is preaching a sermon and there is something so powerful about the words being declared, prayed and remembered by him.
Great is Thy Faithfulness

Pray: Lord, the songs of this day are my prayer. Please put a song in my heart and remind me of your goodness to me. Put a song in my heart that is a declaration of my heart and put a song in my hear that is the prayer of my heart. May your songs fill me and may they be the songs to which I cling in all circumstances. Amen

Leave a Reply

